Performance impact of ParallelDeflateThreshold

Oct 25, 2012 at 2:47 PM
Edited Oct 25, 2012 at 2:48 PM

I have been using HV Backup for about six months now. I started on a Server 2008 R2 SP1 Hyper-V farm and recently migrated to a Server 2012 cluster. As the number of VMs increased, I noticed that backups for all the VMs could run well over a day which impacted performance during peak hours. I noticed the the transfer speed over the network would look like a waveform without any consistent throughput. I originally thought it might have been a buffer issue since I was transferring the file over the network but doing tests writing directly to disk got me the same performance.

I started to look at the source code of the application and noticed a line setting the ParallelDeflateThreshold to -1 for the zip file. Researching this I found out that this basically turns off multi-threaded compression. I then went back and ran another backup which proved that only one core of my 8 core server was being consumed. I went back and found the discussion that led to this setting being added to the code (http://hypervbackup.codeplex.com/discussions/350657) which notes a corruption of the zip being created. I noticed this discussion took place in March although the DLL that is currently provided with HV Backup wasn't released in July which means this issue was occurring on an older version of the DotNetZIp library. This got me wondering if maybe the issue is corrected in the newer version allowing me to comment out this setting and get back a huge performance increase for my backups.